• 21 States are now BJP-Ruled : Home to Over 70 percent of Indians. In 2014, when the Narendra Modi government came to power in Delhi, the BJP ruled just seven states. The cumulative population of NDA-ruled states is 849,825,030 (70.18 per cent of India’s population). Seven of the country’s 10 most populous states as per Census 2011 are now BJP-led NDA-ruled. (The last time a political party or group had this big a footprint across India was a quarter century ago. In end-1993, after a round of state elections, the Congress held 16 of India’s then 26 states — 15 on its own; one in alliance.)